“I want you to be a father” says Lupe Fiasco in his track “He Say She Say”

(Image courtesy of http://rap.about.com/)

I’ve focused on bad parenting already, but there are many ways parents fail their children.

So far, I’ve mentioned parental failures in the yuppy/too busy/nonchalant category. These types of failures are the result of parents not understanding or dedicating the time and work it takes to discipline and teach children to be good people.

On another hand, some people are simply unprepared and ill equipped to take on the role of “parent.” Lupe Fiasco‘s track “He Say She Say” highlights this aspect and expresses, from the perspective of mother and son, the hardships of a young man growing up without a father figure.

More than that, Lupe expresses the larger societal implications and the struggle that broken “families” deal with regularly.

The text at the end of the video says, “Father absence contributes to crime and delinquency. Violent criminals are overwhelmingly males who grew up without fathers. (U.S. Census Bureau Report)”

It is our duty to teach our children what is right. Under all circumstances, when a person becomes a parent they are wholly responsible for the outcome of that child. Afterall, what role is more important to society or life than that of a parent?

How do you feel? Please share your thoughts and stories.

Song: He Say She Say

Album: Food and Liquor

Lyrics:

I can’t, I won’t, I can’t, I won’t
Let you leave
I don’t know what you want
You want more from me?

So he said to him
“I want you to be a father
I’m your little boy and you don’t even bother
Like “brother” without the R
And I’m starting to harbor
Cool and food for thought
But for you I’m a starver
Starting to use red markers on my work
My teacher say they know I’m much smarter
But I’m hurt
I used to hand my homework in first
Like I was the classroom starter
Burst to tears
Let them know he see us
Now I’m fighting in class
Got a note last week that say I might not pass
Kids ask me if my daddy is sick of us
Cause you ain’t never pick me up
You see what my problem is?
That I don’t know where my poppa is
No positive male role model
To play football and build railroad models
It’s making a hole you’ve been digging it
Cause you ain’t been kicking it
Since I was old enough to hold bottles
Wasn’t supposed to get introduced to that
I don’t deserve to get used to that
Now I ain’t asking you for money or to come back to me
Some days it ain’t sunny but it ain’t so hard
Just breaks my heart
When my momma try to provide and I tell her ‘That ain’t your job’
To be a man, she try to make me understand
That she my number one fan
But its like you born from the stands
You know the world is out to get me, why don’t you give me a chance?”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

  1. Word. I definitely feel u…tv and video games just won’t cut it..you still have to raise your child. Nurture is just as important as nature. And also….for single parents..it’s definitely hard on the boy not having a positive male role model (i.e., the father) to show him how to be a man. And the same to a daughter without a mom. I mean, what girl could honestly talk to her father about female stuff especially in the adolescent stage. Good blog, homie =)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers