A few things I’m doing right now to lose weight and tighten up

In no particular order, I’ve incorporated these rules into my life recently and I’m progress in my weight loss and health goals.

I’ve lost three pounds in ten days (and I haven’t even been exercising, but that’s about to change).

half of a tomato slice face matched with half of a bicycle tire to create a circle

(photo compliments of SuperTracker.usda.gov)

1. Consume nothing but plain ol’ tap water after 8 o’clock. Breakfast is around 10 in the morning. If you’re only eating 10 hours a day, it’s easier to trim calories. Besides, I’m not hungry when I’m asleep.

2. Use USDA.gov’s SuperTracker to create goals and track my calorie intake. Reduce calorie intake to 1600 or fewer daily.

3. Drink 10-14 glasses of water daily. This helps me stay full, energized, and saves me from feeling hungry when I’m actually just thirsty. Also, I want my skin to glow and stay hydrated as I make these changes and lose weight, too. Chant with me: No more stretch-marks. No more stretch-marks.

4. Take my multivitamin daily. Take a B complex 3-4 days a week.

5. Ween myself from adding sugar to tea and coffee (the coffee is going to be hard).

6. Drink a glass of green tea a day. Only drink water, unsweetened tea (or sometimes coffee), or skim (maybe 1%) milk.

7. Eat 3-4 cups of vegetables daily. Eat 1.5-3 cups of fruit daily. Eat only whole grains. Eat 5-7 ounces of lean protein daily. Eat 2.5-3 cups of low- or non-fat dairy daily.

8. Eat nothing from a box, a bag, a package or a restaurant. If it has a nutrition label listing more than four ingredients, it’s questionable. This is basically a “clean eating” plan. I read Eating Clean for Dummies for tips, advice and recipes.

9. Program daily exercises to keep the guess work out of things. I use the Skimble Workout Trainer app to schedule a targeted workout calendar for all 7 days of the week. That way, if I miss one day, whatever. On to the next day. Gotta keep it positive and keep it rolling.

three weeks of an agenda calendar with a Skimble Workout Trainer application's workout planned for every day of the week to repeat to infinity and beyond

The Workout Trainer by Skimble offers a “save for later” option with each workout. I used this feature to create a weekly exercise plan in my Google Calendar.

10. Take luxurious showers instead of indulging in foods. I find that letting the conditioner soak deeply in my hair, exfoliating from head to toe, applying a face mask, shaving my legs and slathering myself in rich, natural body moisturizers makes me feels soft, pampered and fresh. Much better than a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. Plus, I need to take care of my skin so I don’t get stretch marks as all of this weight melts off of me. The added bonus? It helps keep me body-conscious.

11. Desserts and treats? I replaced the old ice cream, oreos, donuts, and nonsense with 1% Horizon organic chocolate milk. So rich. So creamy. So chocolaty. And it’s a low-fat dairy product aka a weight-loss dynamo and one of twelve best foods for your abs.

12. Shop the farmer’s markets. It’s fun. It’s adventurous. Plus, it keeps fresh, whole foods in your home. And local, fresh, in-season foods are packed with the most nutrients. Can we also feel good about supporting local business? Yes we can.

13. Garlic. Garlic. Garlic. It’s detoxifying. It’s tasty. Enough said. Also, include other fresh herbs and spices.

14. Remember that losing 1 pound is a big deal. Imagine a pound of ground beef at the super market. Yeah, that’s a decent chunk of fat!

15. Eat colorfully. For the challenge. For the vitamins. Keep it silly.

a photograph of fruits and vegetables arranged by color to imitate the rainbow. it's a horse-shoe shape with reds on the outside, then oranges, yellows, greens, blues and violets on the inside of the U.

(photo compliments of womenworld.org)

It’s taken about ten days (actually more, donuts were the last sacrifice) to slowly incorporate all of these things. I’m not there on the exercising yet. So that’s the next big focus.

The point is, I’m always working. I read Health magazine monthly for good reminders and motivation. I like the blog mythineats. The advice is inspiring and the recipes look amazing. We should all be working toward taking control of our health, always.

2 Comments

  1. Hello very cool website!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will bookmark your website and take the feeds also?I’m satisfied to find a lot of useful info right here in the submit, we need work out extra strategies on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  2. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers