Detox diet advice

cruciferous vegetables including Arugula, watercress, cabbage, Napa cabbage, daikon, wasabi, turnip, rutabaga, broccoli rabe, bok choy, cauliflower, broccoli, kohlrabi, Brussels sprouts, collard greens, kale

(photo compliments of healthyurbankitchen.com/blog)

I’ve been striving to eat clean(er).

I’ve read about The Master Cleanse or lemonade detoxification diet, and it was recently recommended to me, too. I follow a blog that raves about it, mythineats (great blog, by the way), so if it’s for you, power to you.

It seems too simple, though. And potentially unhealthy. So I kept reading and consulted my Dad, a hobby ‘hoping-to-turn-semi-pro’ nutritionist.

His bottom line: you don’t need to throw your body into shock and deprive it of key nutrients to detoxify. Garlic will wipe the metals out of your system, eating clean detoxifies and regulates your body naturally, and anyone will get the awesome results of this Master Cleanse if they quit eating garbage and had two bowel movements (sorry, had to say it) every day for 10 days.

I don’t want the easy way out. I want to learn positive habits that keep me free of toxins.

I found Eating Clean for Dummies (a book that has my family cracking jokes: “So how would smart people eat clean? Hahaha.”). It has a chapter called, “Eating Clean to Detoxify Your Body.” Perfect.

Here’s what authors Jonathan Wright, MD and Linda Larsen have to say about a well-balanced detox diet:

Defining a detox diet

Detoxification removes the chemicals from your organs, especially your liver, keeps you from eating more of them by getting you to consume foods that haven’t been processed, and emphasizes drinking plenty of water.

So, adopt a clean-eating diet and only eat foods in their most original state like (fresh tomatoes instead of canned, whole, raw chicken breast instead of breaded, frozen ones, fresh herbs instead of dried, grapes instead of raisins) and then follow these additional instructions:

Avoid foods that are “hard on the body:”

  • Dairy products
  • Wheat products and foods with gluten
  • Sugar
  • Yeast
  • Chocolate
  • Caffeine

Include foods with “liver-healthy nutrients:”

  • Fresh fruits and vegetables
  • Beets
  • Cruciferous vegetables (aka broccoli, cauliflower, watercress, Brussels sprouts, kohlrabi, cabbage, kale)
  • Onions and garlic

Add fresh (not dried) herbs and spices for detoxification:

  • Peppermint
  • Parsley
  • Garlic
  • Turmeric
  • Rosemary and sage
  • Green tea

Also, consider supplements that detoxify:

  • Schisandra chinensis
  • Milk thistle
  • Citrus oils
  • Probiotics and prebiotics
  • Vitamin C
  • For those with special nutritional needs, vitamin D and calcium with magnesium may be a good idea

So, there you have it.

To transition into this, I’ve been hitting up the farmer’s market more.

It’s been successful except for this cup of herbal tea I choked down, gagging (Traditional Medicinals Chocolate Smooth Move). I’ll bet it’s great for your health, but I am not ready for all that yet.

My only real dilemma: breakfast. I love a hearty bowl of organic steel cut oatmeal or Chobani vanilla greek yogurt in the morning. I’m still working that out.

_________________________________________________________

Wright, Jonathan & Larsen, Linda. Eating Clean for Dummies. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley Publishing Inc., 2011. Print.

4 Comments

  1. First things first, Thanks for following mythineats I appreciate it.
    OK, so I totally agree with your father and many people out there about the Master Cleanse. Although I do like to do it about once a year I only would recommend it if you need a jump start into a total cleanse. Some people find it hard to just eat healthy and find that they slip up so they either have to go from one extreme to the next so in doing a detox they feel that they completely cut out food to assure that it works and they don’t slip up.

    I personally like to do it, just because it really makes me feel so good at the end of it. But more than anything I encourage healthy eating. I do try to eat clean always. I’m so used to eating clean that I call my indulgences Cheese, whole grain breads (freshly baked), lasagna (made from scratch recipe in my blog) etc… And to think that none of these are true indulgences because they are made from scratch or not bad to eat at all. But when you become such a healthy eater you always opt for, veggies, whole lean meats (not fried), fruits (not juice), brown rice, legumes, and lots of green tea (my fav).

    I think that the list you got is fantastic. I think that if you stick to eat you will find that the results will be amazing. As for breakfast always a tricky one becuz like u said granola and yogurt, or oats are fantastic. Try for this period fresh fruit, slice apples and sprinkle some cinnamon (a great detox ingredient), make yourself a smoothie with almond milk or just ice, have some walnuts or almonds along with ur breakfast if you need, and last but not least drink a glass of warm water with half a lemon squeezed in it first thing in the AM; this is my no 1 rule, it’s so so detoxifying and gets all the toxins flushed out and you’ll feel less bloated throughout the day.

    Ok, well best of Luck. Let me know how you feel. And if you need any recipes or other ideas either go to Mythineats.com or contact me.
    Ciao

    • Great advice for breakfast! I’ve been trying to do an apple with peanut butter or almonds and an orange. Something like that. I miss my yogurt, though.

      I completely understand what you’re saying about the Master Cleanse. I was looking forward to ten days of not food shopping or healthy meal planning and cooking. But ultimately, I just can’t bring myself to go to such extremes with my diet and my body.

      No protein for 10+ days? I don’t like that. How do you fuel a workout or recover from one without some carbs and proteins? What about ten days without vitamin D, adequate B vitamins, calcium?

      See where my stream of conscience goes? The guilt got to me.

      If someone wants to do the Master Cleanse as a cold-turkey jump-start into healthy eating, I guess I’d support it. You’ll live without that stuff for 10 days (you probably have been for a while if you’re eating a poor diet). So I like your post about the cleanse on mythineats. It’s a great account of what to expect and the benefits.

      I enjoy following your blog. I haven’t tried a recipe yet, but I’m pretty sure it’s only a matter of time. That zucchini and eggplant veggie snack looks amazing. And I’m looking for a good lasagna recipe. I see a few on your site.

  2. Great post. I was checking constantly this blog and I am impressed!
    Very helpful information particularly the last part :
    ) I care for such info a lot. I was looking for this particular information for a long time.
    Thank you and best of luck.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers