McDonald’s “bionic” burgers hold the secret ingredients to immortality. They never mold.

I discussed the possibility of genetically engineered tomatoes that could last up to six weeks. I was generally resistant to this idea. But yesterday, while chowing down on my McDouble and fries from McDonald’s (I know, I know), I recalled hearing about several accounts on the chemicals, toxins and other disgusting ingredients McDonald’s packs into its burgers.

Well, evidently, they pack so many preservatives and chemical additives into these burgers that they are nearly immortal. Meaning you can leave a McDonald’s Big Mac out on a table for 18+ years and the only change in appearance will be a thick layer of dust.

Sounds great, huh? I’m not sure I can eat McDonald’s again for a long, long time. Gross.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 Comments

  1. Yeah, I dunno. Might have to call BS on this one. Something just has my spider-senses tingling. I mean, no mold on the bread? No lettuce decomp? I once had a Big Mac in my car during for dinner while covering the General Assembly and left the box in the back in my car. A few days later the lettuce smelled so bad it had to be removed from the vehicle. Oh, and who was video taping themselves going into a McDonalds in 1989? We weren’t using Youtube and there weren’t camera phones. Hell, I think we were still using brick phones in bags back then (Go watch the original Lethal Weapon movie and check out that big ass phone Danny Glover is using).

  2. Ugh so gross. I remember hearing something similar about twinkies and pepperidge farm bread, that they’ll stay the same for insane amounts of time. I work in a grocery store, and one of my coworkers was telling me that if apples are kept under the right conditions, they can sit in the warehouse for up to 5 months before they make it to the store. Charming huh?

    • My dad has an organic apple orchard. It’s one of his hobbies and he doesn’t sell any, however the orchard yields many more apples in the fall than our family could eat in a month, so he stores them in a cool basement, spread out on old newspapers. That way apples with an unbroken skin stay fresh throughout the whole winter and into the spring and they’re almost (not quite, but almost) as good in March as the day they came off the tree.

  3. Interesting although not terribly surprising. If you go to bionicburger.com, the guy gives instructions on how to create your own: The most important part is to make sure the burger can dry out over the course of a few days.

    Anything biodegradable you can get sufficiently dry before it starts to degrade will last a long long time. Combine that with a few preservatives and this result is somewhat predictable when you think of it.

  4. I set up a real experiment to test a few hypothesis more fully. I’ve tested McD’s fries, salted, and unsalted, with burgers, and also homemade burger and homemade fries with salt and without. All under three different water activity scenarios. Find out what happened here: http://sparkasynapse.blogspot.com/2010/10/of-mushrooms-molds-and-mcdonalds-day_31.html


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers