Already recycling? Get your friends to do it: good peer pressure.

It’s not always bad to use peer pressure, right?

My recyclable recepticle. It gets emptied more often than the trash can of the same size.
Today I’m removing a piece of tape on my recycling bin. I recycle. And I get as many people as possible to recycle, too. So when I moved in with my good friend Erin last year and found out that she didn’t know much about recycling, I thought it was best to make it easy and put a label on the recycling bin.

I looked at the Baltimore County website for recycling and found their guide to what is recyclable. Then I made a cheat sheet on this piece of masking tape.

I got good results from Erin and guests, too. I’m glad it helped to save recyclables from a sad trip to the landfill.

Now that I’ve moved, I do single-streamed recycling and I have a roommate that is as serious about recycling as I am and so it’s time to remove this sticker.

But I haven’t stopped converting friends to the recycling lifestyle. It’s your responsibility to spread the word, too. So use that peer pressure for something good!

A quick what-to-recycle guide for guests on my recycling bin.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers