You can’t spread swine flu if you avoid getting it.

If everyone avoided contracting the swine flu, we could easily put a stop to it.

If everyone avoided contracting the swine flu, we could easily put a stop to it.

If you don’t consider staying healthy a matter of social responsibility, you’re (dead) wrong.

The thing about the swine flu, the regular flu, the common cold or even HIV is that they wouldn’t be spreading if people protected themselves and avoided it in the first place. You cannot spread an illness if you never contract it, right? And if everyone was careful and practiced safe health habits, these “epidemics” wouldn’t exist.

Personally, I don’t have time catch a cold, much less any type of flu. My life is too busy and too demanding to miss a week. Perhaps I’ve been slacking a little bit on my end, though. I have washed my hands at every opportunity and I always sneeze or cough into my elbow.

But this week I’ve promised myself that I’m going to eat better, take my vitamins every morning (sometimes I forget) and get 7-8 hours of sleep a night. I also need to increase my exercise and get my body ready to fight off these nasty winter health threats.

I don’t need to get sick and neither does anyone else. If each of us step up to keep ourselves healthy, we’d be putting an end to this swine flu “epidemic” that’s been splattered across the front pages for months. Right?

The photo is from Rich Tehrani’s blog.

1 Comment

  1. Damn right C-C. If I suffer because of my own habits then so be it, but you better believe I’m not going to be out in public spreading whatever contagious virus I have.

    But I also don’t want to suffer because there is some sicko out there not taking care of themselves. There is no excuse to not have clean hands on campus. I mean have you seen the plethora of hand sanitizers scattered across the campus. USE IT!!!!!!!!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers