Careful driving is a civic duty

Stopped behind this truck at an intersection in Towson one afternoon, I saw the message on the back and it got me thinking.

Stopped behind this truck at an intersection in Towson one afternoon, I saw the message on the back and it got me thinking.

The above photograph was the spark of this blog. One afternoon in February I saw sitting at the intersection of York Road and Burke Avenue in Towson, MD and I saw the message across the back of a Giant truck. I took a picture because I thought that it was such an interesting idea.

“Careful driving is a civic duty,” was the message pasted across the back of an 18-wheeler. Hmm. Who pays attention to this message? What does it mean? I don’t usually get my behavioral information from reflective stickers on trucks. Aren’t parents supposed to tell you this? Driver’s Ed schools, even?

Now that I’ve brainstormed this message and its implications, I’ve developed plenty of thoughts about civil/social behavior and responsibility. I hope this blog will be a great display of those thoughts and more as it develops. For now, thanks for reading as I get started on what should be an interesting project.

1 Comment

  1. Great Topic C-C. It’s cool that something like that inspired you to dedicate your semester long blog on this.

    I think that sometimes we get caught up in our own little worlds that we forget other people live in it too.

    My eyes were opened up to the concept of civility when I was involved in an “incident” last semester, and was required to take a civility class as a punishment. The class really helped me out with how I now view my world and how I treat others.

    Maybe you could voluntarily take the class as something to blog about.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 542 other followers